IWSG Small Projects Grants

Since 2016, the International Wader Study Group have annually been funding small projects through the newly established IWSG Small Projects Grants. The aim is to support shorebird studies that otherwise will not go ahead. This could be all sorts of projects related to waders (shorebirds): ecological and/or conservation research, pilot studies looking at biological aspects of a single or a few species, or counts of staging birds at unexplored sites. Or something completely different! Application is open for IWSG members who have a project idea that could be undertaken if supported with a small amount of money (currently 1000 pounds sterling per project).

In the below link you can find a description of criteria and the application form. The IWSG Executive Committee has appointed an evaluation committee that will judge the applications, and decide which project will be awarded.

The call for 2018 (field work 2018/2019) is open now!

Applications should be submitted by December 1th of each year, and a decision will be made before 1st of May.

Please note: Deadline 2018 is 15th December.

Application form IWSG Small Project Grants Call


Previous recipients of the IWSG Small Grants

The 2017 IWSG Small Grant winner

In September 2016, we received a number of interesting project descriptions, and we are happy to announce that we have decided to award the following project with the 2016 IWSG Wader Study Group Small Grant:

1. Christoph Himmel: Censusing waders along Southern Azerbaijan coast on the flyway of, for instance, the Central Asian population of Black-tailed Godwits
2. Ralitsa Georgieva: Research of distribution, population size and main treats of breeding waders along Albania seacoast wetlands
3. Sriman Delip Kumar Das: A shorebird expedition to unexplored mudflats of the Ganges-Brahmaputra-Meghna delta, an important bird and biodiversity area, Bangladesh

We thank all who submitted projects and encourage everyone with relevant projects to apply again next year.

Yahkat Barshep, Vojtěch Kubelka and Jannik Hansen

IWSG Small Grants Committee, December 2017.